[rsyslog] Timestamp wrong...?

Michael Maymann michael at maymann.org
Wed Feb 1 14:53:50 CET 2012


on my syslog client i have the following time:
# date && logger testing123
Wed Feb  1 14:42:02 CET 2012

what get in my syslog server logs:
2012-02-01T14:42:02+02:00 <HOSTNAME> root: testing123
Time on my syslog server:
date
Wed Feb  1 15:42:02 EET 2012

according to http://www.timezoneconverter.com/cgi-bin/tzc.tzc and my
calculations it should have been either:
2012-02-01T14:42:02+01:00 <HOSTNAME> root: testing123 (if keeping client
timestamp)
or
2012-02-01T15:42:02+02:00 <HOSTNAME> root: testing123 (if keeping server
timestamp)
or
2012-02-01T13:42:02+00:00 <HOSTNAME> root: testing123 (if keeping UTC
timestamp)

I would prefer client timestamp... Is this a bug or have I completely
misunderstood something... ?
How do I change to correct client timestamp ?


Thanks in advance :-) !
~maymann



More information about the rsyslog mailing list